All Kayak Fishing Forums  

Go Back   All Kayak Fishing Forums > All General Kayak Fishing Discussion > All Newbie Kayak Fishing Q&A

Old 10-03-2015, 12:47 PM
Baitfish

katiesimmons is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Student question about communication and navigation equipment

Hi everyone!

My name is Katie Simmons and I am in my fourth year of studying Industrial Design (product design) at Virginia Tech. I am working on a a concept for a device that is essentially a mash up of a handheld marine VHF radio and a nav. gps. I have some questions about regulations, current technologies you use, and about my current concept. The prompt for my project is to essentially design a connected product for future use, so technology and power capabilities don't have to be all here right now (I'm basically assuming technology will be smaller and batteries will be more powerful than they are now).

I know USSailing has a regulation that all nearshore vessels must have a watertight handheld VHF radio with gps capabilities. I was wondering if you knew if ocean-faring kayaks or any other small one-man vessels had to follow a similar rule? If so, what are you required to carry with you for communication/navigation?

What devices do you use for navigation and communication on the water? Do you have separate devices for both nav. and comm.? Roughly, how much did you invest in them/how much do you think it is reasonable to invest in these devices? If you've ever bought a "waterproof" radio or gps that turned out to be only water resistant, what was your experience with that? Have you ever had difficulty communicating with the other kayaks you're with or with other larger vessels while on the water?

What are your essential needs for communication and navigation on the water? What other kinds of devices do you take with you? Do they have screens, buttons, speakers? Are there any conditions that make these devices difficult to use?