All Kayak Fishing Forums  

Go Back   All Kayak Fishing Forums > All Kayak Fishing Reports Forums > All Fresh-Water Kayak Fishing

Old 08-23-2010, 04:15 PM
Baitfish

Grantalon is on a distinguished road
Default Input on a Kayak

Hi, I'm new to the kayak fishing. I have fished in a PB all my life but now I am wanting to get a kayak and I was looking around when I found the cobra yaks which I really like (specifically the marauder xf) Unfortunately they don't have a dealer very near to me (4 hours or so from where I live) but I got on craigslist and found a fish n dive used one that is in very good condition but was looking for a little bit of input from the community and people who would know best! Here is a link to what I found

http://minneapolis.craigslist.org/da...913878120.html

I have read many reviews and such, the year of this specific yak is 2000 and I was really wondering more on the side of whether it was a good deal or not?

Any input would be great.

x Grantalon
Old 08-24-2010, 06:46 AM
Baitfish

AFARR is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Input on a Kayak

I have no experience with Cobra kayaks (and very limited experience with Sit On Tops...but I'm learning quickly...since I sold my Sit Insides to 'upgrade').

My take on that boat....nice kayak. Reviews seem pretty good...it is a bit wide (but that can make for a nice, stable boat).

Price looks fair (check the condition, etc.)...

But, for that much money, and pretty much already equipped with a seat (looks like you might want to install some rod holders), it's probably a good deal.

Worst case, you can use it for a season or two and resell it for what you have into it and get something that is more specific to your needs (longer, narrower, shorter, etc.).

AFARR
Old 08-25-2010, 04:35 AM
Baitfish

beardedguy is on a distinguished road

The Cobra FnD is a very good fishing platform. It is considered a very slow kayak,
so depending on what you plans are it may or may not be the correct ride for you.